The Indian Premier League (IPL) has established itself as a cricketing extravaganza that captivates millions of fans worldwide. The IPL is not just a cricket tournament; it’s a celebration of talent, rivalry, and sheer entertainment. The eagerly awaited IPL 2024 promises another thrilling season, featuring intense clashes between twelve formidable teams.

Schedule29 March 2024 to 26 May 2024 (expected)
Start Date29 March 2024 (expected)
HostIndian Premier League
Host CountryIndia
AdministratorBoard of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)
FormatT20 (20 Over Cricket League Match)
Opening MatchTBD
Final MatchTBD
Participants Team10
Total Match74
IPL Current winnerCSK
Official URL
Note: All dates are expected; BCCI has yet to announce the IPL 2024 dates.

In this article, we’ll provide an in-depth overview of the IPL 2024 schedule, team-wise fixtures, historical context, and answers to some frequently asked questions.

IPL 2024 Venue

The IPL typically utilizes a variety of cricket stadiums across different cities in India to host its matches. These venues are chosen for their capacity, facilities, and the geographical spread they offer. Some of the commonly used venues for IPL matches include:

Eden Gardens, Kolkata: The iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata is one of the largest and oldest cricket stadiums in India. It has a rich history of hosting important cricket matches and has been a regular venue for IPL matches.

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai: Located in Mumbai, Wankhede Stadium is known for its electric atmosphere during IPL matches. It’s the home ground of the Mumbai Indians and has witnessed numerous memorable IPL encounters.

M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru: This stadium in Bengaluru is home to the Royal Challengers Bangalore. With a capacity for a large number of spectators, it often provides a vibrant setting for IPL contests.

MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai: Also known as Chepauk Stadium, it is the home ground for the Chennai Super Kings. Its unique setting and enthusiastic crowd make it a favorite venue for IPL matches.

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad: Located in Hyderabad, this stadium is home to the Sunrisers Hyderabad. It offers a great viewing experience for fans and has hosted several IPL matches.

Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur: The Sawai Mansingh Stadium has hosted Rajasthan Royals’ home matches in previous IPL seasons. Known for its passionate crowd, it contributes to the IPL’s vibrant atmosphere.

Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi: Formerly known as Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, this venue in Delhi has been home to the Delhi Capitals. It provides a great platform for thrilling IPL encounters.

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali: Also called the PCA Stadium, this venue has hosted Kings XI Punjab’s home matches. It’s known for its lively crowd and competitive matches.

Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad: With its massive seating capacity, this stadium is used for both cricket and other events. It’s known for hosting high-profile matches in IPL history.

M. A. Aziz Stadium, Visakhapatnam: Sometimes used as an alternative venue due to logistical reasons, this stadium in Visakhapatnam has hosted IPL matches in the past.

IPL 2024 Teams

the Indian Premier League (IPL) had eight teams. However, you mentioned that IPL 2024 will have twelve teams, which means there might have been changes in team compositions since then. Here are the 10 teams that were part of the IPL until my last update:

  1. Chennai Super Kings (CSK): Based in Chennai, Tamil Nadu.
  2. Delhi Capitals (DC): Based in Delhi.
  3. Kings XI Punjab (now known as Punjab Kings): Based in Mohali, Punjab.
  4. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR): Based in Kolkata, West Bengal.
  5. Mumbai Indians (MI): Based in Mumbai, Maharashtra.
  6. Rajasthan Royals (RR): Based in Jaipur, Rajasthan.
  7. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Based in Bangalore, Karnataka.
  8. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH): Based in Hyderabad, Telangana.
  9. Gujarat Titans (GJ): Based in Gujarat.
  10. Lucknow Super Giants: Based in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh

IPL 2024 Team Captain

Chennai Super KingsMS Dhoni
Delhi CapitalsDavid Warner (leading in the absence of Rishabh Pant)
Gujarat TitansHardik Pandya
Kolkata Knight RidersNitish Rana (leading in the absence of the injured Shreyas Iyer)
Lucknow Super GiantsKL Rahul
Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
Punjab KingsShikhar Dhawan
Rajasthan RoyalsSanju Samson
Royal Challengers BangaloreFaf du Plessis
Sunrisers HyderabadAiden Markram

IPL 2024 Released Players

Team NameIPL 2024 Released Players
Chennai Super KingsSisanda Magala, Ben Stokes, K Jameson, Simranjeet Singh, Sheikh Rasheed
Gujarat TitansY. Dayal, K. Williamson, P. Sangwan, Dashun Sanaka, Odeon Smith
MI Released PlayersC. Jordan, H. Shaukeen, Duan Janesan, Arshad Khan, Tristan
Lucknow SupergiantsJ. Unadkat, Avesh Khan, Deepak Hooda, Quinton D Cock, Daniel Sams
RCB Released PlayersAnuj Rawat, H. Patel, Dinesh karthik, Shahbaz ahmed, F. Allens
Rajasthan RoyalsJoe root, J. holder, N. Saini, Ryan parag, KC Cariappa
KKR Released PlayersA Russel, N. Jagadeesan, Lockie Ferguson, D Weise, Mandeep Singh
Punjab KingsH Bhatia, Rishi Dhawan, B Rajapaksha, Mathew Short, Raj Angad
Delhi CapitalsDavid Warner, Manish pandey, R. Patel, Prithvi shah, M Rahman
Sunrisers HyderabadM Agarwal, Harry Brooks, Umran malik, Kartik Tyagi, W. Sundar

IPL Winners Year Wise

  1. 2008: Rajasthan Royals
  2. 2009: Deccan Chargers
  3. 2010: Chennai Super Kings
  4. 2011: Chennai Super Kings
  5. 2012: Kolkata Knight Riders
  6. 2013: Mumbai Indians
  7. 2014: Kolkata Knight Riders
  8. 2015: Mumbai Indians
  9. 2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad
  10. 2017: Mumbai Indians
  11. 2018: Chennai Super Kings
  12. 2019: Mumbai Indians
  13. 2020: Mumbai Indians
  14. 2021: Chennai Super Kings
  15. 2022: Gujarat Titans
  16. 2023: Chennai Super Kings